COVID-19 update
Back to previous page

Beech lookout

Cunnawarra National Park

Open, check current alerts 

Current alerts in this area

There are no current alerts in this area.

Nearby alerts

Applies from Thu 23 Jan 2020, 12.47pm. Last reviewed: Wed 3 Mar 2021, 10.36am

Closed parks: Most of Guy Fawkes River National Park closed - bushfire damage

Most of Guy Fawkes River National Park is closed due to bushfire damage. Upper Ebor Falls is open, so visitors can enjoy the falls. This park is fire-affected and facilities within Ebor Falls picnic area have also been affected. 

The following areas are closed:

  • Chaelundi campground
  • Dalmorton campground
  • Escarpment walk
  • Misty Creek lookout
  • Bicentennial National Trail through the entire park
  • Guy Fawkes River Wilderness areas

Please do not enter closed areas as it is unsafe to do so. Penalties apply for non-compliance. Check this website for updates on closures.

Affects 1 park nearby. Show list

Applies from Tue 2 Mar 2021, 12.25pm to Wed 31 Mar 2021, 11.59pm. Last reviewed: Tue 2 Mar 2021, 12.56pm

Closed areas: Areas closed for repair of flood damage and bridge wash away

The Wilsons River Reserve and visitor precinct are closed from 31 December 2020 to Wednesday 31 March 2021 while flood damage including a washed away section of the bridge over Wilsons River is repaired. 

Penalties apply for non-compliance. For more information, contact the local NPWS office.

Affects 1 park and 4 locations nearby. Show list

Applies from Fri 19 Feb 2021, 4.54pm to Sun 28 Mar 2021, 8.00am. Last reviewed: Mon 1 Mar 2021, 12.08pm

Other planned events: Platypus Flat campground closure

Platypus Flat campground will be closed to all visitors from Monday 1 March to Sunday 28 March 2021, due to new toilets being constructed. This work is the final fire recovery work.

For further information contact the NPWS Coffs Coast area office on 02 6652 0900.

Affects 1 park and 1 location nearby. Show list

Applies from Tue 19 Jan 2021, 2.44pm to Fri 31 Dec 2021, 2.46pm. Last reviewed: Fri 19 Feb 2021, 4.26pm

Closed areas: Shannon Creek forest drive closed

Shannon Creek forest drive is closed from Tuesday 19 January until Friday 31 December 2021. This is due to two bridges being destroyed by bushfire on Shannon Creek Road within the adjacent Boundary Creek State Forest.

Affects 1 park nearby. Show list

Applies from Wed 10 Feb 2021, 2.56pm. Last reviewed: Thu 11 Feb 2021, 1.47pm

Closed areas: Walk with the Birds boardwalk closed

Walk with the Birds boardwalk near The Glade picnic area will be closed for maintenance until further notice. Visitors can still access The Glade, Crystal Shower falls and the Wonga walk.

Affects 1 park and 1 location nearby. Show list

Applies from Wed 10 Jun 2020, 12.00pm to Wed 31 Mar 2021, 12.00pm. Last reviewed: Wed 30 Dec 2020, 12.19pm

Closed areas: Walking track closures due to bushfire damage

Some walking tracks in Cathedral Rock National Park are closed due to bushfire damage:

  • Barokee to Native Dog Creek walk
  • Warrigal walking track
  • Woolpack Rocks walk

Do not enter closed areas. Penalties apply for non-compliance. For more information, contact the NPWS Northern Tablelands area office on 02 6739 0700. 

Affects 1 park and 3 locations nearby. Show list

Applies from Thu 29 Oct 2020, 2.53pm to Fri 30 Apr 2021, 8.00am. Last reviewed: Mon 21 Dec 2020, 2.07pm

Closed areas: Hickeys Road

Hickeys Road is closed due to ongoing safety works and repairs to fire damaged bridges.

Penalties apply for non-compliance. For more information, contact the local NPWS office on 02 6561 6700.

Affects 1 park nearby. Show list

Applies from Mon 30 Nov 2020, 3.05pm to Mon 31 May 2021, 3.05pm. Last reviewed: Sat 2 Jan 2021, 11.08am

Closed areas: The Chalet and The Residence

The Chalet and The Residence will be closed for renovations from Monday 1 February to Monday 31 May 2021 for renovations.

For more information, please call the NPWS Coffs Coast area office on 02 6652 0900.

Affects 1 park and 2 locations nearby. Show list

Applies from Fri 4 Sep 2020, 12.34pm to Fri 30 Jul 2021, 12.37pm. Last reviewed: Tue 22 Dec 2020, 4.25pm

Other incidents: No access to Doon Goonge campground from Shannon Creek Road

Vehicle access to Doon Goonge campground and Shannon Creek forest drive is not available. The 2019/20 bushfires have resulted in major landslips on state forest, and two major bridges have been destroyed. To access the campground, use Quartz Road.

Please call the NPWS Coffs Coast area office on 02 6652 0900 with any queries.

Affects 1 park and 1 location nearby. Show list

Local alerts

For the latest updates on fires, closures and other alerts in this area, see https://www.nationalparks.nsw.gov.au/things-to-do/lookouts/beech-lookout/local-alerts

Park info

See more visitor info

Emergency services

For all NSW fires visit the Rural Fire Service

For the latest information on wildfires in your area please contact the NSW Rural Fire Service.

View all alerts for NSW