Back to previous page
Special Offer

World Heritage sites in NSW national parks

The globally-recognised UNESCO World Heritage List contains some of the most important examples of natural and cultural heritage in the world. Of the 6 World Heritage Areas within NSW, several are managed by NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS). These include the Gondwana Rainforests of Australia, with its steep gorges, plunging waterfalls and abundant birdlife, Greater Blue Mountains Area, an area of 1 million hectares of ancient and spectacular national park and wilderness, and Willandra Lakes Region, an expansive system of ancient lakes formed over the last 2 million years.

Water running within a creek in Washpool National Park. Photo: John Spencer/OEH
The Skywalk lookout, Dorrigo National Park. Photo: Rob Cleary

Gondwana Rainforests of Australia

The Gondwana Rainforests of Australia World Heritage Area contains the most extensive areas of subtropical rainforest in the world, large areas of warm temperate rainforest, and nearly all of the world's Antarctic beech cool temperature rainforest.

Echo Point lookout (Three Sisters), Blue Mountains National Park. Photo: David Finnegan

Greater Blue Mountains

The Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area is a million hectares of wilderness. Within easy reach of Sydney, visitors can take in the scenic views from a number of NSW national parks.

Walk with the birds, Dorrigo National Park. Photo: Rob Cleary