Back to previous page

Murrah Flora Reserves

Open, check current alerts 


Murrah Flora Reserves was created in March 2016. It covers an area of 11,811ha. View the detailed park and fire management documents.

Murrah Flora Reserves encompasses 4 areas including Murrah, Mumbulla, Bermagui and Tanja flora reserves. Located between Bermagui and Tathra, on NSW’s Far South Coast, they adjoin Biamanga National Park, Mimosa Rocks National Park and Bermaguee Nature Reserve.

The flora reserves are significant to the local Aboriginal Yuin People who own neighbouring Biamanga National Park. They also provide an important conservation role, as habitat for the last significant koala population on the NSW South Coast. Other threatened species, such as the long-nosed potoroo, yellow-bellied glider and the powerful owl, also make their home here.

A unique management arrangement

The flora reserves were established under the Forestry Act 2012 and remain State Forest. Under a unique management arrangement, this land is managed by NSW National Parks. This is to ensure management is consistent with the adjoining national parks, which are also being managed for their cultural values and for koala conservation.

View the Murrah Flora Reserves Draft Final Working Plan.

These maps give a basic overview of park attractions and facilities, and may not be detailed enough for some activities. We recommend that you buy a topographic map before you go exploring.


  • in the South Coast region
  • Murrah Flora Reserves are always open, but may have to close at times due to poor weather or fire danger.

  • More