Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse cottages adaptive re-use
In 2003, Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse was incorporated into Myall Lakes National Park – a significant addition of buildings originally designed by colonial architect James Barnet in 1875. A few years after this incorporation, a major conservation and adaptive re-use project saw 3 main buildings converted into holiday accommodation.
Read more about Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse cottages adaptive re-use
Since 1875, advances in technology contributed to significant alterations in the lighthouse and its adjacent buildings, including the signal house, head keeper’s cottage, assistant keepers’ cottages, garages, and paint store. Simultaneously, the town of Seal Rocks has gradually crept right up to the front gate, turning the once-remote Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse into a significant cultural and tourist landmark for a vibrant community.
When the property was incorporated into Myall Lakes National Park, NPWS was tasked with conserving its history, while transforming the site for modern usage. This required careful design and upgrade of the bathrooms and kitchens. Work was carried out over 2006 and 2007, and in 2008, the project won a Highly Commended National Trust heritage award.
Today, Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse offers popular Seal Rocks accommodation and day-use facilities, as well as an enduring resource for the local community.