COVID-19 update
Back to previous page
Special Offer

Popular sites and attractions closed

Some of our popular sites and attractions are closed or have restricted access due to the recent bushfires and floods or the COVID-19 pandemic. These are just some of the closed areas in NSW national parks and reserves, and changes may occur at short notice. Check the NPWS alerts page for all closures.

Read more about Popular sites and attractions closed

Locations closed until further notice

These parks, sites, and attractions will remain closed until further notice.

Sydney and surrounds

Blue Mountains National Park: Giant Stairs, National Pass, Ruined Castle walking track, Golden Stairs, Tarros Ladders, and Mount Solitary walking tracks 

Bents Basin State Conservation Area: entire park closed

Berowra Valley National Park: Barnetts playground

Bouddi National Park: no vehicle access to Putty Beach

Cattai National Park: entire park closed 

Kamay Botany Bay National Park: Kurnell Visitor Centre, and entire park closed intermittently at peak times once maximum capacities are reached. 

Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park: Bobbin Head Information Centre, The Basin track and picnic area

Lane Cove National Park: Riverside walking track

Munmorah State Conservation Area: all access roads, car parks, and picnic areas closed to vehicles

Royal National Park: Royal National Park Visitor Centre, and Warumbul picnic area

Sydney Harbour National Park: Fort Denison

Wollemi National Park: Glow Worm Tunnel walking track 

North Coast

Arakoon National Park: Trial Bay Gaol 

Cape Byron State Conservation Area: Cape Byron lighthouse, Cape Byron Information Centre

Nightcap National Park: entire park closed

Oxley Wild Rivers National Park: East Kunderang Homestead and Green Gully track

Sea Acres National Park: Sea Acres Rainforest Centre and Sea Acres Rainforest boardwalk 

Wollumbin National Park: entire park closed

South Coast

Ben Boyd National Park – North (Green Cape Area): Boyds Tower walking track, Light to Light walk, Green Cape lighthouse precinct, Saltwater Creek picnic area, Bittangabee Bay picnic area.

Biamanga National Park: entire park closed. 

Bomaderry Creek Regional Park: all picnic areas, barbecues and toilet facilities.

Budderoo National Park: Minnamurra Rainforest Centre  

Deua National Park: entire park closed

Monga National Park: entire park closed

Montague Nature Reserve: entire reserve closed 

Morton National Park: Fitzroy Falls Visitor Centre including East Rim and West Rim walking tracks, Pigeon House Mountain Didthul walking track, Wog Wog and the Castle Walk, Wildflower walking track

Snowy Mountains

Kosciuszko National Park: To prepare for the opening of NSW ski season on Monday 22 June 2020, the resort areas of Perisher, Thredbo and Charlotte Pass and the Main Range of Kosciusko National Park will be closed to the public from 5pm Friday 5 June to 9am Tuesday 9 June. Check Kosciuszko National Park alerts and closures for more information.

Country NSW

Cathedral Rock National Park: entire park closed, except Cathedral Rock track.

Pilliga National Park: Pilliga Forest Discovery Centre

Warrumbungle National Park: Warrumbungle Visitor Centre

Wombeyan Karst Conservation Reserve: entire park closed


Mungo National Park: Mungo Visitor Centre and Mungo Shearers' Quarters


These are just some of the closed areas in NSW national parks and reserves. Check the NPWS alerts page for all closures.

Read more about what NSW National Parks and Wildlife is doing in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Last updated: 1:00pm, 3 June 2020.


Sun setting across Pretty beach, Murramarang National Park. Photo: D Finnegan/OEH