Back to previous page
Print factsheet
Special Offer

Goat Island heritage tour

Sydney Harbour National Park

Overview

Book now

Take a fascinating tour of Goat Island, an iconic Sydney landmark in Sydney Harbour National Park.

When

Tour 10.20am–12.50pm.

2017:

Sunday 6 August, Thursday 10 August, Sunday 20 August, Sunday 3 September, Sunday 17 September, Sunday 1 October, Thursday 12 October, Sunday 15 October, Sunday 5 November, Sunday 19 November, Sunday 3 December, Thursday 14 December, Sunday 17 December.

2018:

Sunday 7 January, Sunday 21 January, Sunday 4 February, Thursday 8 February, Sunday 18 February, Sunday 4 March, Sunday 18 March, Sunday 1 April, Thursday 5 April, Sunday 15 April, Sunday 6 May, Sunday 20 May, Sunday 3 June, Thursday 7 June, Sunday 17 June.

Where
Goat Island, Sydney Harbour National Park
Grade
Easy. Suitable for all ages.
Price

Adult $37.50 per person. Concession $33 per person. Child 5-15 years $29 per person. Children under 5 years free. Please bring your ticket/s to the tour.

Meeting point
Harbour Master steps, Circular Quay. Meet at 10.20am. Ferry departs for Goat Island at 10.35am.
Bookings
Bookings required. Phone 13000 PARKS (1300 072 757) or book online.
Availability
Group bookings available for 20 or more.
Book now

Join an NPWS Discovery guide on a fascinating tour of historic Goat Island. Learn the Aboriginal name for Goat Island, explore the convict quarry and visit one of the first water police stations in Sydney.

Venture inside the Queens magazine, built in 1836 to store large amounts of explosive gunpower, right in the middle of our harbour. You'll see the convicts' cramped sleeping quarters and learn what their lives were like on the island. What sort of food did they eat? What punishments did they endure? You'll also get an insight into the lives of the soldiers who watched over them.

If you're a fan of the Aussie television drama Water Rats, you'll also enjoy a behind-the-scenes look at some of the remaining film sets. And finally, bring your camera because Goat Island boasts captivating views of Barangaroo, Balmain and Sydney Harbour Bridge.

For directions, safety and practical information, see visitor info

Book now

Operated by

  • Discovery

Park info

  • in Sydney Harbour National Park in the Sydney and surrounds region
  • Sydney Harbour National Park is open sunrise to sunset but may have to close at times due to poor weather or fire danger.

  • Park entry fees:

    Bradleys Head carpark: $8 per vehicle per day. North Head carpark: $5 per vehicle per day. There are pay and display machines that accept cards and coins - no change given. Chowder Bay Road parking: Monday-Friday: $3 per hour, to a maximum of $16 per day. Saturday, Sunday and Public Holidays: $4 per hour, to a maximum of $20 per day. If you hold an NPWS All Parks or Multi Parks Pass, you can park free for up to four hours per day - additional time can be purchased. Car parks operated by Sydney Harbour Federation Trust or Mosman Council are not covered by your pass. Please check signs carefully.

    Other fees:

    Landing fee or tour fee applies to visit Sydney Harbour Islands. Fort Denison can only be visited on a tour. To visit Shark, Clark or Rodd islands Island, all vessels, including kayaks, need to pay a $7 per person landing fee. To arrange, please contact 13000 PARKS (13000 72757).

    Buy an annual pass.
    • Vaucluse
      (02) 9337 5511
      Contact hours: 9am-5pm Monday to Friday
    • Greycliffe House, Nielsen Park, Vaucluse NSW
    • Fax: (02) 9337 1303
    More
    • Mosman
      (02) 9960 6266
      Contact hours: 9am-4.30pm Wednesday to Friday
    • Governors Road, Middle Head, Mosman NSW
    • Fax: (02) 9960 3965
    More
See more visitor info
Goat Island, Sydney Harbour National Park. Photo: David Finnegan